Rebecca Groat named winner of 2022 Jan Cathcart Memorial Scholarship.

31 March 2022

SunRice Group CEO Rob Gordon, 2022 Jan Cathcart Scholarship recipient Rebecca Groat and SunRice Group Chairman Laurie Arthur.

SunRice is pleased to announce that the 2022 recipient of the Jan Cathcart Memorial Scholarship is Rebecca Groat, from Myall Park near Griffith in the NSW Riverina.

The scholarship of up to $30,000 will support Rebecca’s studies as she pursues of a Bachelor of Environmental Science degree, majoring in Climate Science and Sustainability at Charles Sturt University.

In presenting Rebecca with her scholarship at a celebratory dinner in Leeton last week, SunRice Group Chairman Mr Laurie Arthur said:

“I’m delighted Rebecca has been named the recipient of this year’s Jan Cathcart Scholarship.
“Rebecca understands the importance of positive outcomes for the environment, demonstrating a commitment to the sector which is aligned with the Jan Cathcart Scholarship.
“She is passionate about the rice industry and is focussed on sustainability where agriculture and the environment not only coexist but thrive together.
“Over a 43-year period, Jan made an enormous contribution to the rice industry, paving the way for other women in her field, and each year SunRice is pleased to have the opportunity to honour this commitment.
“This Scholarship has always been a wonderful chance for SunRice to invest in the future of the industry.”

Now in its eighth year, the Scholarship is designed to provide Rebecca and all recipients, with financial support and hands-on industry experience to assist them in achieving their career goals.

On accepting the Award, Ms Rebecca Groat noted that she is dedicated to creating a sustainable environment for future generations.

“Every farmer I know is passionate about the environment and wants to leave their farm better for the next generation. I share the same values and want to make a positive difference in my part of the world.
“My experience of working the rice harvest gave me an appreciation of the dedication and work ethic that goes into every grain of rice. That inspired me to look at different ways that farming and the environment can work together, which the rice industry does so well. It is also what motivated me to apply for the Jan Cathcart Scholarship.
“The Australian rice industry is already a world leader in environment and production working together, so I am grateful to have the opportunity to get some experience and to use the tools and learning I gain at university to further the industry and shape the way my community farms into the future.”

Valued at $10,000 a year for up to three years of tertiary study, the scholarship is designed to support women pursuing a career in agriculture, and has been awarded to eight other recipients to date:

• 2021: Charlie Reilly, from Leeton in the NSW Riverina
• 2020: Alexandra Morona, from a rice farm near Deniliquin
• 2019: Emily Fasham, from a rice farm near Wakool
• 2018: Annabel Arnold, from a rice farm in Berrigan
• 2017: Sarah Cudmore, from a mixed farming property at Benerembah
• 2016: Millie Mertz, from a rice farm in Moulamein
• 2016: Elise Wilson, from a rice farm in Coleambally
• 2015: Samantha Glenn, from a rice farm in Moulamein
• 2015: Zoe Reynoldson, from a rice farm in Berrigan.

About Jan Cathcart
Jan was an integral part of the Australian rice industry for more than 43 years, commencing work at the Rice Marketing Board in November 1971 on completion of her secondary education. She joined the SunRice Grower Services team in 1985, maintaining a strong and close relationship with growers, shareholders and industry colleagues throughout her entire working life. Jan’s life and career achievements are recognised through this scholarship.

Media Inquiries:
Julian Luke
Head of Corporate Affairs, SunRice
0414 548 504 / [email protected]